Didzis Palejs – the new president of AEBIOM


Making the most of the opportunity provided by AEBIOM’s 2016 annual conference, the European Biomass Association (AEBIOM) has officially announced the election of its new President and Board. Didzis Palejs (LATbio, LV) has been elected as the new president of AEBIOM, succeeding Gustav Melin (SVEBIO, SE) who has led the organisation for the past 6 years.

Didzis Palejs was the natural choice as he has been increasingly involved in AEBIOM and its network for over the past decade. Having worked in the energy and wood industry for almost 20 years at local and international levels in both sales and logistics, he developed a broad understanding of the technical, economic and political challenges ahead. Based on his solid experience, he served as both the Chairman of the Latvian Biomass Association (LATbio) as well as the Vice-President of the European Pellet Council (EPC – an AEBIOM network).

His strong commitment will be key during a critical moment for the entire bioenergy sector at EU level. In fact, on November 30th the European Commission will publish a legislative package that will set the scene for renewables and especially bioenergy for the next decade.

It cannot be stressed enough; bioenergy is essential for the EU-28 to reach its climate and energy goals,” stated President Palejs.  “The coming winter package should make it right to allow our sector to play its role. Based on what we’ve heard about this package at AEBIOM’s conference, I’m afraid we are not yet fully understood at EU level.

Raising the benefits of bioenergy at EU level through strengthening the cohesion of the sector will be one of the top priorities for President Palejs during his term. “I will dedicate my term to three priorities: uniting the biomass industry at international level, reinforcing our advocacy capacity and supporting national associations in the development of national biomass markets,” said President Palejs in his inaugural address.

In addition, AEBIOM elected its new Vice-President, Thomas Siegmund (BBE, DE) and renewed part of its board by appointing Michael Doran (Irbea, IE), Christoph Pfemeter (ABA, AT), Marijan Kavran (CROBIOM, HR), Vilma Gaubyte (Litbioma, LT) Eric Vial (Propellet France, FR), Gustav Melin (Svebio, SE).

The PDF version of the Press release can be downloaded here: